Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question regarding Rotary Cutting/Polishing Paint Correction

Default Question regarding Rotary Cutting/Polishing Paint Correction

Just recently picked up a Makita Rotary Polisher/Buffer and am wanting to learn how to properly use it and what products you would recommend for it IE: Polishes/Compounds and Pads. I used one before with a foam polishing pad to do some minor polishing or atleast attempt it, but whether I was doing it right I have no clue And as far as what products to use with them I'm only familiar with the 3M stuff. Any tips/recommendations and where to buy the stuff would be greatly appreciated!

Smokin' cigarettes and watchin' Captain Kangaroo

I'm no pro, but I like the 3M perfect-it line. If you're just polishing use the gray egg crate 3M foam pad and the 06064 polish. If it's a dark color you might have to go over it again with the light blue pad and the next step in compound. (I can't remember the number) If you wet sanded it or it's really bad, you might have to hit it with a wool pad, or the white egg crate foam pad and some 06085 rubbing compound. There's a lot of other products out there, I used some Norton liquid ice compound and liked it, and a buddy of mine uses Mirka. Most body supply shops have the stuff you need. Just stay away from the edges & corners.
    I used to be 'with it'. Then they changed what 'it' was. Now what I'm 'with' isn't 'it', and what's 'it' seems weird and scary to me.......

1948 Dodge B1 pickup