Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: security cameras gurus, need some help

  1. #1
    Forum Member 99Electriccobra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Northville
    Posts
    1,559

    Default security cameras gurus, need some help

    Went to check my cameras and all have static/snow, some with loss of signal that comes and goes. Tried a new DVR box, same thing. Suggestions? Is it as simple as the power supply to the cameras feeding interference but still sending power?

    I did order a new power supply to try.

    I can see picture in cameras, things seem to be functioning properly, just the "snow" or some kind of interference in signal, but it's consistent over all the cameras so I don't think it's one camera or one cable.

    Q-See systems if it helps. QS-458 and QTH-84, both DVR's same issue.thumbnail (64).jpg

  2. #2
    Club Member Wizeguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    St.Clair Shores
    Posts
    6,947

    Default

    Check your connections, when my cameras gets snowy I just move the connections around and it clears them up
    SAL

  3. #3
    Forum Member 99Electriccobra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Northville
    Posts
    1,559

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wizeguy View Post
    Check your connections, when my cameras gets snowy I just move the connections around and it clears them up
    That's what I'm afraid of, if it's camera end, a couple of them are 30' up.

  4. #4
    Club Member Wizeguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    St.Clair Shores
    Posts
    6,947

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 99Electriccobra View Post
    That's what I'm afraid of, if it's camera end, a couple of them are 30' up.
    Yeah it would suck but I usually just unplug the electrical connector and the cable to each camera and plug them back in and they work fine
    SAL

  5. #5
    Forum Member 99Electriccobra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Northville
    Posts
    1,559

    Default

    Thank You Wizeguy, it does seem the more I mess with it, the better it's getting. Up to the attic I go

  6. #6
    Club Member Anthony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    I dont feel tardy
    Posts
    9,669

    Default

    Mike,

    You know mike Johnston’s number???

    He the guru

  7. #7
    Forum Member 99Electriccobra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Northville
    Posts
    1,559

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Anthony View Post
    Mike,

    You know mike Johnston’s number???

    He the guru
    I don't, but I think I'm one the right track thanks to Wizeguy, just need to do the dirty and get in the attic and check connections. Thanks Anthony too.

  8. #8
    Forum Member 99Electriccobra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Northville
    Posts
    1,559

    Default

    Note, just a heads up, it was the camera power supply. New power supply with harness cleared it up, cost about $15.


    Now to sell some new HD cameras and my used DVR on the 'bay to recoup some I'll upgrade and keep the newer DVR I bought.
    Last edited by 99Electriccobra; 05-11-2018 at 08:56 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •