Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36

Thread: G8 gt dod

  1. #21
    Club Member WhiteHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Metro Detroit, MI
    Posts
    13,286

    Default

    I would start by checking grounds and connector from the controller. I can dig up some service manual stuff in a couple hours.

    -Geoff
    2016 Camaro Convertible 2SS

  2. #22
    Club Member svtserpent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,858

    Default

    I checked and double checked grounds made sure everything was plugged in.
    Any help would be great thank you!

  3. #23
    Club Member Beigg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    I am here >x<
    Posts
    5,342

    Default

    Where are you located?

  4. #24
    Club Member mustangmike6996's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Mt Clem (the nice part)
    Posts
    6,509

    Default

    By chance is a fuse blown,does the OBD II DLC have 12VDC when measuring between pins 4 (Gnd) and 16 (VBatt+)?

  5. #25
    Club Member 1BADAIR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    cardboard box
    Posts
    27,997

    Default

    sounds like you missed a ground wire
    A gun is like a parachute. If you need one, and don't have one, you'll probably never need one again.

  6. #26
    Club Member svtserpent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,858

    Default

    Im in Shelby twp 25 & shelby. I've been in the automotive industry for 20+ years, the first thing I checked was fuses and grounds. The two grounds I unhooked I made sure I put back in place. FML

  7. #27
    Forum Member adidasvette16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastside
    Posts
    596

    Default

    A guy I work with just did this same job on his Charger. I'll ask him tomorrow and see what he says. Did you delete the DOD?

  8. #28
    Club Member svtserpent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,858

    Default

    Yes DoD delete. I think I'm just going to drag it to a shop.

  9. #29
    Club Member WhiteHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Metro Detroit, MI
    Posts
    13,286

    Default

    Sorry it took me so long. The ground for the ECM is on the front of the right cylinder head. I would pull it off, clean it, and verify that there is not a break in it up to the ECM. Can you confirm that the ECM is getting power and ground? The service manual isn't much help past that. It assumes that the ECM is working for most of the diagnostics. I am not sure how you would check for a bad ECM without having an extra one to swap in and out.

    My educated guess (not a tech) is that either you are not getting power and ground to it, or it is fried. I would check every connector you disconnected between the ground and ECM and make sure the pins aren't bent, corroded, or pushed into the harness. If you actually unplugged the ECM as part of the swap, go through the connectors with a magnifying glass looking for an issue.

    The problem almost has to be in that ECM power circuit though, or the ECM itself.

    -Geoff
    2016 Camaro Convertible 2SS

  10. #30
    Club Member svtserpent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,858

    Default

    Thanks for all the help guys, I'm actually getting the use of a GM tech II held held programer tonight. I hope I can fumble through it lol.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •