Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Replacing electric panel in basement?

  1. #1
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    No Spin Zone
    Posts
    2,863

    Default Replacing electric panel in basement?

    Iím curious if anyone can shed some light here.
    My plan is to update my electrical panel in the basement with a new/breaker panel to replace the old fuse panel.
    I did this before at my old house, when I needed to do, I called DTE and they came and removed my actual meter and put copper bars in. I removed the bars, hooked up new panel, then put the bars back in. Called them and said its done and ready for new meter. Guy came out and put in new meter.

    I called with my plan recently, the lady said I need to have a contractor remove the meter. I took that as not even contact DTE. Sure I can cut the little wire/lock on the meter outside and pull it off, hook up my new service and then replace meter, but, I thought that if the meter is off for too long, it will freak out and shut off? Not saying Iíll pull the meter for days, and not sure of the meter time limit being removed either. It was really confusing discussing with the lady at DTE.

    Someone else has done this before, how did you go about it?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Club Member mikesfastss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    at home with the family
    Posts
    5,000

    Default

    Just pull the meter and do your work, just remember that if your adding a bigger service panel you need to update the meter can and the wire from the meter to the panel. Then have dte upgrade the wire from the meter up.

  3. #3
    Club Member mikesfastss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    at home with the family
    Posts
    5,000

    Default

    If your upgrading the meter can dte will come and remove the live wire and reconnect the wire after your done.

  4. #4
    Club Member WhiteHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Metro Detroit, MI
    Posts
    14,187

    Default

    I just did that on my house. I had a pretty old setup and they had to run two new six foot ground rods in the backyard too.

    -Geoff
    2016 Camaro Convertible 2SS

  5. #5
    Club Member 4Gas$'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Milan
    Posts
    9,889

    Cool

    You guys are making this way over complicated. Years ago I simply ran
    an extension cord from the neighbor's house one night and its worked
    great ever since!

  6. #6
    Club Member WhiteHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Metro Detroit, MI
    Posts
    14,187

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 4Gas$ View Post
    You guys are making this way over complicated. Years ago I simply ran
    an extension cord from the neighbor's house one night and its worked
    great ever since!
    It's funny you mention that - I have a college story!

    I was in an Engineering Fraternity when I was in college at Oakland U and we had another chapter down at Detroit Mercy that actually owned a house on McNichols across the street from U of D. The house had been occupied by squatters, but they restarted the chapter and had assumed ownership. It had gone to hell, and everything needed to be replaced. So we were over there one day when they were doing the electrical service. They disconnected the power, but there was still a guys radio playing up on the second floor. We go in there and look out the window - he has a romex line running out the side of the house, hooking into power on the roof of the gas station next door that powered the one outlet by the window. Only in the D!

    -Geoff
    2016 Camaro Convertible 2SS

  7. #7
    Club Member 4Gas$'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Milan
    Posts
    9,889

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteHawk View Post
    It's funny you mention that - I have a college story!

    I was in an Engineering Fraternity when I was in college at Oakland U and we had another chapter down at Detroit Mercy that actually owned a house on McNichols across the street from U of D. The house had been occupied by squatters, but they restarted the chapter and had assumed ownership. It had gone to hell, and everything needed to be replaced. So we were over there one day when they were doing the electrical service. They disconnected the power, but there was still a guys radio playing up on the second floor. We go in there and look out the window - he has a romex line running out the side of the house, hooking into power on the roof of the gas station next door that powered the one outlet by the window. Only in the D!

    -Geoff

    Creative, resourceful, talented & skilled......my kinda guy!

  8. #8
    Forum Member mustangjoe87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Harrison Twp
    Posts
    2,885

    Default

    I had two panels replaced in the last 2years at different houses. Dte did not get involved on either. Contractor just pulled the meter and did his work, a couple hours later put it back in and there hasn't been any issues.

  9. #9
    Club Member dave89iroc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Taylor, Mi
    Posts
    16,165

    Default

    keep records of when you did this, in case DTE asks in the future why the seal is missing from the meter can
    ASE Master Certified Technician

  10. #10
    Club Member Siegel1719's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Farmington Hills, MI
    Posts
    1,197

    Default

    Just a FYI I have pulled my meter multiple times without issues. Not only for the service change but for portable generator hookup before I had an interlock. DTE did reinstall the tamper seal but never heard from them about why it was removed. They understand that service and what not will at times take a meter out for a short period of time.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •