Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Zero turn hook up?

Default Zero turn hook up?

I'm on 5 acres, I purchased my neighbors house on 2 acres and I'm going to start cutting my elderly neighbor's 1 acre. I've been milking an old cub cadet Z50 for the past two years and its time for something new.

Thinking 60" and at least 24hp. It needs to be comfortable and durable, as I'll plan on keeping it forever. I'm thinking along the lines of a Scag, Kobota, Bobcat, Toro, exmark, hustler, etc. I don't mind paying for a decent unit and fully expect to be spending around $10+/-K for a nice unit. Any recommendations? Anyone got a hook up? My buddy's has a Kubota dealer so he is getting me some prices on a 400/700 series.

Any tips would be great.

I sent you a PM. I have a low hour, 60" mower, that is just too much capacity at our new residence.

Quote Originally Posted by ajg87 View Post
    I sent you a PM. I have a low hour, 60" mower, that is just too much capacity at our new residence.
    Your pm's are full. I might be interested.

It's the wheel motors and the engine that matters. So find one with an engine you like and wheel motors that have filters. Everything else is fluff.

I have 800 hours on my Kawasaki 24hp Cub Cadet RZT54, my Dad has 1900 hours on his 21hp Cub Cadet RZT50. I've broken the front axle on mine (welded it back up with some supports), he's wore out his deck and is on his second one. Both of us are on our original motors and wheel motors.

The only other zeroturn I'd consider is one of the few with full suspension. Otherwise everything else is too heavy and expensive.

Cool

I can't recommend purchasing a true commercial mower used.

I have owned a few of the Toro Groundsmaster 300's. This beast
    has a 45 hp Ford 4 cyl motor, weighs 1 ton, 6 foot cut & mows like
    you're driving a car.

New cost is around $23,000, a used one can be found (government
    auction) for around $5000.